About The Company

The Company’s greatest asset is its membership. Members are encouraged to take a full part in all the activities and opportunities provided. There are also opportunities to attend a variety of formal and informal events, including visits, dinners and lectures; in addition to becoming involved with the four Interest Groups (Armed Forces, Arts and Heritage, Business and Community Support). A highlight of the year is the Gloucestershire Lecture, which is usually delivered by a renowned national or local figure – the Director of GCHQ in 2019; environmentalist Jonathon Porritt in 2020; TV personality and Cotswold farmer Adam Henson in 2021; and the County Council on the forthcoming Gloucesterrshire Cyber Park in 2022. Most events are open to both members and their guests. The Company is honoured to have HRH The Princess Royal as its Patron.

Company History

Company History

The Honourable Company was formed in 2007, based on the vision of the then Lord-Lieutenant of Gloucestershire, Sir Henry Elwes KCVO. He felt that a new partnership should be established to uphold the county’s traditions and history, and to ensure that its future achievements were encouraged and celebrated. It operates in a similar manner to livery companies established in the City of London. Membership is widely-based and embraces both rural and urban interests, the arts, science, education, Armed Forces, sport and business experience.

The Honourable Company of Gloucestershire

Company Constitution

The Company is governed by the Memorandum of Association and Articles of Association filed with Companies House on the Company’s formation; the Articles were amended in November 2013. These documents are available here. On 19 November 2019 the Court approved an amendment to the Company Byelaws; a single document bringing together aspects of governance.

Company Patron

Company Patron

In December 2015 HRH The Princess Royal graciously agreed to become The Honourable Company’s first Patron.

Previous Wardens

  • 2020-2022 – Professor Chris Gaskell CBE
  • 2019-2020 – Helen Lovatt
  • 2017-2019 – Air Marshal Sir Dusty Miller KBE
  • 2016-2017 – The Hon Hugh Tollemache
  • 2015-2016 – Anne Chambers
  • 2014-2015 – Professor Colin Dennis CBE DL
  • 2013-2014 – Ceri Evans JP DL
  • 2012-2013 – Patrick Brooke
  • 2011-2012 – John Thurston DL
  • 2010-2011 – Robert Turner
  • 2009-2010 – John Hazelwood CBE DL
  • 2008-2009 – Warden Emeritus, Sir Henry Elwes KCVO

Previous Clerks

  • 2013-2018 – Air Marshal G A ‘Black’ Robertson CBE
  • 2007-2013 – Tony Crook